Rotate Tires - Chevy Spark Forum : Chevrolet Spark Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-25-2013, 10:49 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 46
Rotate Tires

It's time to rotate my tires. Can I do this myself? I don't think they need balancing right now. But, I'm just wondering about the TPMS.
joehornback is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-05-2013, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 126
Yes you can do it yourself. The TPMS won't be effected.

Chrissy V
Awaiting Salsa 2013 Spark
chrisvy is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-07-2013, 09:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 75
I always thought you needed a TPMS tool to reset the position of the sensors once rotated. At least that's how it was on the Corvette, the tire shop I used didn't remember the position of the wheels when changing tires (front left/right got swapped) and the OnStar report showed a low tire pressure on the front right tire when the front left was actually low. The dealer had to reset this with a TPMS tool and the horn honks when the sensor is registered. Not sure if this is different on the Sparks.
SRTViperDude is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 10-26-2013, 07:04 AM
Junior Member
 
Reuben234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 9
hey don't use TPMS.It not suites you although you can try it by yourself easily.There are no any complications.

Happiness depends upon ourselves
Reuben234 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-17-2013, 05:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reuben234 View Post
hey don't use TPMS.It not suites you although you can try it by yourself easily.There are no any complications.
At least in New York, a tire shop cannot (legally) mount and balance your tires if your TPMS system is non-functional. So I ended up purchasing a second set of TPMS sensors when I swapped wheels and a TPMS reset tool. Also, you may not pass inspection if your "Service TPMS" light is on.

See the following article:

Having winter tires installed just got more complicated
SRTViperDude is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-13-2014, 12:54 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Spark with 'run flat' tires?

Hi,

I have been trying to find a donut spare for my 2013 but the bolts are too short for most spares. One tire shop owner said (over the phone) that these might be run-flat tires and okay to drive until I could get them repaired.

I make a loooooong trip across the desert 2 or 3 times a year, so having discovered that I have no spare is kinda "harshin' my mellow, man."

Are these 'run-flats'? Does anybody know?

Thanks!

M
Mystes is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-15-2014, 07:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 75
No, the tires that came from the factory are not run-flats. So you will either have to find a donut spare that fits or purchase a factory rim (expensive, last I checked it was between $500-600).
SRTViperDude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy Spark Forum : Chevrolet Spark Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome